Expressions-BAF vs BBI

SIES College, Nerul

On the 20th of October 2016, B.Com. (Accounting & Finance) and B.Com. (Banking & Insurance) jointly organised an Inter-departmental Debate competition “Expressions” in the A-V Room of the College from 10am to 1pm providing an educative and entertaining platform for their students.

Ms.Ashwathy Ravindran,the Business Communication faculty for both the courses organised the event.

The host for the event was Ms. Pakhi Surange, FY BAF.

The Debate Competition was conducted following a traditional structure in 2 phases - first the Qualifying Round and then the Final Round.

In the Qualifying Round a set of 10 students - 05 from BAF and 05 from BBI - participated in the event, the former team being “for” and the latter team “against” the topic: “Money is the biggest motivator of people at the workplace”. The judges for the Qualifying Round were Ms. Payal Madhok (Lecturer, Dept. of BCom) and Ms. Meghana Bhatia (Assistant Professor, Dept of I.T.) who evaluated the student’s performance on criteria like Confidence, Clarity, Reasoning, Orderly presentation and Conclusive Statement. 6 students qualified for the Final Round forming two course wise teams.

In the final round, while the BBI Team were “for”, the BAF Team debated “against” the topic: “Middle class in India is becoming selfish, socially callous & obsessed with material gain”. In this round, the judge Mr. Mithun Pillai (Assistant Professor, Dept. of BMM) declared the BBI group the winner. One of the participants of BBI group Ms. Ritika was specially mentioned by all the judges for her stage presence and confidence.

The vote of thanks for the event was delivered by Ms. Mansi Mosamkar, a first year BCom (A&F) student. The event concluded at 1pm with congratulatory notes by the Coordinators - Dr. Priyanka Mohan, of BCom(A&F) and Ms. Lata Lokhande, of BCom (B&I).

Name of the participants:-


  1. Balaji Padamanabhan
  2. Mohini Balbhim Shendge
  3. Samyuktha Jaikrishnan
  4. Aqsa Sheikh
  5. Indrakshi Biswajit Banerjee


  1. Mohit Lalwani
  2. Ritika Das
  3. Anshul Tiwari
  4. Mustafa Malekpur
  5. Madhura Bahekar

Name of winners:-

(BBI Department)

  1. Mohit Lalwani
  2. RitikaDas
  3. Anshul Tiwari